Man of Steel First Look

There it is, the first look at the upcoming reboot of Superman. Before I dive into my personal reaction when I first saw the picture, let me put things into perspective. I thoroughly enjoyed what they did with Superman Returns. I enjoyed Brandon Routh, I thought he played a good Clark Kent and a very believable Superman. I like the story they gave to the Man of Steel. I like Kevin Spacey as the land-obsessed Lex Luthor, I think it worked. Kate Bosworth was forgettable. I thought the suit looked great, minus the miniature S shield. Initially, I gave it a solid 4 out of 5 stars. But after repeated viewings, it dropped to a 3.5. But nevertheless, I still loved it.

And 4 years later, they announced the reboot of the franchise with a new cast and crew. I was okay with it, not really excited nor was I bashing on it. Slowly, my excitement grow. Then Zack and Nolan got attached. This looks like a job for Zackolan! The vision that Zack brings to screen teaming up with Nolan’s touch of near perfection. There’s so much potential with the two of them together. As I first saw images of a ripped Cavill, that got me a little more pumped. Then came the announcement of Amy Adams as Lois Lane, a week or so before I watched the Fighter. And watching Fighter, got me even more excited. I think that Amy Adams is perfectly casted. I’ll hold judgement until I see footage before I can say if she’s gonna be better than Durance. Soon, a whole bunch of people were casted including Russell Crowe as Jor-El. At this point, I’m sold. Bring on the Man of Steel !

This week, the first piece of news I got was the casting of Lawrence Fishburne as Perry White. And I tweeted, “GREAT CAESAR’S GHOST!” After letting it sink in, I think he has the chops to pull of a black version of the Chief. It will be interesting, definitely. And then as I came home from school yesterday and checked Twitter to find the most unexpected piece of news of the day. The first look at Superman. And this was how I felt.

Instantly, it became the wallpaper to my desktop, prompting me to clean all the files I have sitting on my desktop and hiding my dock so that I could stare at the badass-ness of the red and blue superhero. Every time I check my Twitter, I’ll take peeks at him. Every time I wait for a reply on Facebook or something, I’ll gaze at him in awe, almost aspiring to him. Well I might be exaggerating a little but that is how much I love the picture.

The suit looks amazing. The texturised material used works a whole lot more as compared to the one in the Amazing Spider-Man. The cape is huge, much like what Darth Vader had and more. And the way its placed over his shoulders, I really like it. The boots look faithful to the classics. From what I can see, the belt buckle looks different, but good. And I’ve been examining his crotch quite a bit to see if he’s wearing his red undies. Its still unclear and its probably because the Studio wants to see fan reactions and maybe change things up a little. And the S shield. My least favourite part. That being said, I’m still warming up to it and slowly liking it a whole lot more than I first did. It looks a little the Flyby and Earth-2 shield, which I’m not a big fan off. But I’ll reserve judgement. However, the size of the shield and the small little raise they gave it, I’m loving it.

Overall, the suit looks amazing. Its a combination of everything from here and there. It has the classic look, it has the Flyby/Earth-2 shield, it has a more toned up version of Superman Returns texture. And most importantly, a very mordernised look, which is in my opinion, the most important element in the suit. And this picture raised my excitement level by god knows how many times.

Leave a comment